The Optimist Club of Frederick held its 15th Annual Fish with a Cop program this June at the Camp Airy Pond in Thurmont. There were 26 boys and girls from across Frederick County who took part in the program. A total of 28 officers from Frederick City, the Sheriff Department, Maryland State Police Department, National Resources Police, and Thurmont Police Department participated in the program this year. 

The officers picked up the children from their homes and transported them to the pond. The Optimist Club provided a new Zebco rod, reel, and tackle for each child who attended.

The officers, as well as club members, worked with the kids to help them develop or further their fishing skills. The main purpose of this program is to encourage the children to enjoy the great outdoors and to give them a positive experience with police officers.  

When the fishing was done, the Optimist Club held a cookout and fish fry for the children and officers. They were served grilled hotdogs, chips, fried fresh fish, and ice cream sundaes. The officers then took the children back home. 

The following sponsors contributed to the program this year: The Brotherhood of the Jungle Cock, who made this program possible by stocking the pond and providing a tent and tables, and Camp Airy for use of their pond. A big thanks to the Strong Tower Church for providing most of the food for the program and helping cook it. Because of these sponsors and police officers who volunteered their time, the children and officers had a very memorable experience. Thank you again to all who helped with this program again this year. 
A special thank you to the law enforcement of Frederick County. They volunteer their time to make sure a child has a good time, all while taking time from their own families. They should be commended for their dedication to the community of Frederick County.

Frederick Sheriff, Brunswick, and Natural Resource Police

Bently Beachley, Shawn Haynes, Elias Barahona, CPL McKenzie Neville, Lorenzo Byrnes, Jayce Smith, Daniel Kristiansen, James Krepelin, OFC Nathaniel Minnick, Senior Officer Chad Marshall, DFC Nicholas Thomas, OFC Matt Crouse, DFC Travis Dykoff, SGt Tim Duhan, SGT Brad Lowe, OFC Will Faith, CPL Josh Keeney, DFC Amber Owens, and Patrick McEntee.

Frederick City and MD State Police

Daniel Kristiansen, Edna Dalhia Saint De Deo, Hunter Heims, Christian Maximo, DeSean Gomez, Ceasar Gamez Orellana, Anthony Ngalibika; (second row) TFC Tim Coss, SGT Rich Kulina, OFC Vincent Burns, CPL Josh White, TFC Adam Sweckard, SGT Greg Lantz, TFC Kole Riggs, TFC Noah Potvin, OFC Joseph Constantine, OFC Irvin Solano; (back row) Michael Johnson, TFC Jason Rickard, TFC Kevin Carter, Zaiden Cox, TFC Stephen Carr, and Jameirah Thompson.

Share →