The Thurmont Lions Club held “Education Night” on May 11 to recognize the achievements of teachers and students in the Catoctin feeder area. Scholarships were presented to four outstanding Catoctin High School students who submitted stellar applications. Recipients of the scholarships were Rianna Chaney who received the Lynn Stuart scholarship; Sheridan Chaney; Shayne Hewitt; and Pablo Arriaga who received his fourth and final Vic Jagow scholarship. 

 Twelve teachers received nominations for the Teacher of the Year Award. To be nominated, a letter had to have been submitted by a parent, staff member, or administrator that shared the successes the teacher had made with students, as well as the teacher’s accomplishments within the school community.  Highlights from these letters were shared for all of these impressive nominees and they received a flower bouquet.

Six outstanding teachers, one from each school that sent in nominations, were chosen as the Teacher of the Year from their schools: Shari Stone from Emmitsburg  Elementary, Ashley Hood from Lewistown Elementary, Doris Grossnickle from Sabillasville Elementary, Tammy Ferrell from Thurmont Elementary, Amy Lipchock from Thurmont Primary, and Kathleen Zimmermann from Thurmont Middle School. These teachers received a certificate and gift card. Other teachers who had been nominated were: Michelle Keegin from Lewistown Elementary, Julie Desmond, Jennifer Reynolds and Kimberly Stevens from Thurmont Elementary; and Joni Wiles from Thurmont Primary School. Amy Lipchock was chosen by a panel of community members as the Thurmont Lions Club Teacher of the Year and also received a monetary gift.

 School donations were presented to the administrators of the schools in the Catoctin feeder area including Mother Seton School. Each administrator shared how the donation would be put to good use in their respective schools. Lion Larry Steinly was recognized for his upcoming retirement after serving in education for 43 years. A reception was held at the end of the awards program for the honorees and their families. The evening was a celebration and a tribute to all of these dedicated and inspiring students and educators!

The Thurmont Lions Club meets the second and fourth Wednesday of the month at St. John Lutheran Church on Church Street in Thurmont.  For more information, visit or contact Lion Joyce Anthony at

Pictured from left are Doris Grossnickle, Kathleen Zimmermann, Amy Lipchock, Ashley Hood, Shari Stone, and Tammy Ferrell.

Share →