The Optimist Club of Frederick held its eighth annual Fish with a Cop program on Saturday, June 3, 2017, at the Camp Airy pond in Thurmont.  There were twenty-seven boys and girls from across Frederick County who took part in the program. Officers from the Sheriff’s Department, Maryland State, Frederick City, Brunswick, Thurmont, and the Department of Natural Resources Police participated in the program.

The officers picked up the children from their homes and transported them to the pond. They were then given a Zebco combo rod and reel, along with tackle from the Optimist Club. The officers and club members worked with the kids to help them develop or to further their fishing skills. When the fishing was done, the Optimist Club held a cookout and fish fry for the children and the officers. Following the cookout, the officers took the children back home.

The following sponsors contributed to this wonderful program: Safeway Foods, Food Lion, Wegman’s, Weis, The Brotherhood of the Jungle Cock for stocking the pond with trout, Camp Airy for use of their pond, Camp Airy Director Tim Olson for all his assistance, Zebco for the fishing equipment, and Frederick County elementary schools. Because of these sponsors and policemen who volunteered their time, the children had a very memorable experience. The Optimist Club would like to extend a huge “thank you” to all who helped with this program.

For more information, contact Pat or Craig Taliaferro at 301-663-8116 or [email protected]

Pictured from left are: (top row) Tr. 1st Class Nick Farioli, Ofc. Tim Duhan, Master Trooper Matthew Crouse, Lt. Mike Lee, Alexis Gray, Ofc. Sara Evans, Aux, Ofc. Dylan Owens, X’Zavier Rollins, Detective Jeff Putman, Ofc. Mike Conover, Sgt. Angela Waechter, Ofc. Joe Constanine; (second row) Patricia Taliaferro (chair of Fish with a Cop), Malachi Prather, Haven Miesner, Logan Heims, Jared Clair, Jack Wilkins, Luis Barrera, Allen, Jorydn Brown, Juan Duran, Brigido Reyes, Dunique Allen, Brandon Hoalim, Braydon Bagent, Deon Melvin, Earl Gamber President, Tony Martin Optimist member; (third row) Cpl. Christopher Handler, Ofc. Laura Albrecht, Cpl. Brad Lowe, Cpl. Jerimy Tindal, Cpl. Josh White, Tr. Adam Oleyar, Sgt. Paul Schur, Tr. Kyle Knowles, Major Tim Clark, Cpl. Dan McDowell; (front row) Albri Teran, Allen Lane, Wayne Jenkins, Dylan Baker, Lacie Hughes, Will LeGore, Alexandria Geiger, Vincent Napoli, Dustin Thomas, Austin Zembroski, Joseph Fritz, and Jaffet Palacios.

Share →